October 2014 Newsletter

Posted on 03 Oct 2014 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

I’m tired of writing about how the year is whizzing by, but seriously—it’s freaking whizzing by. I typically put up two giant dry erase boards with my artists’ tour dates, and when I am putting November up toward the end of September, and see Thanksgiving and then realize that December 1 comes right after that, I want to go throw a winter coat on. And eat some soup or chili. Of course, it was 80 degrees in Madison on Monday, so maybe enjoying October is a smart idea. As a sports fan, I must say it’s an awesome time –the NFL in full swing, the baseball playoffs and even the start of hockey season with college basketball and the NBA not far behind. It’s cooler on the golf course. And then there is Halloween, which in my house means seeing it through the eyes of our 7-year old son. He’s going to be a doctor…..for Halloween, that is. It’s also fun to buy six bags of trick or treat candy on October 1, only to eat all or most of it before October 15.

In general, fall is a great season and one that seems to inspire a lot of amazing music. It also is a popular time to release music or to go on tour. You see where I’m going with this, right? Have a great month, everyone!

New Clients and New Releases

Farmer Jason Christmas on the Farm With Farmer Jason The front man for Jason & the Scorchers, Jason Ringenberg, has an alter ego children’s music artist known as Farmer Jason, giving him the opportunity to create new generations of fans for both of his musical endeavors. Now back with his first ever holiday album, Farmer Jason has created his own brand of countrified and fun Christmas songs, as well as his take on some classics. www.farmerjason.com

Hobo Nephews of Uncle Frank Combining what the Minneapolis Star Tribune calls "timeless songwriting chops" with "tremendously played roots music" (Atlantic City Weekly), Duluth based Hobo Nephews of Uncle Frank are bringing own brand of Americana to the east coast this month; where they grew up, and also where they often mythologize in their songs. The road tested duo has released four full length records, and has another on the way in early 2015 that was produced by Trampled By Turtles’ violinist Ryan Young. www.facebook.com/hobonephews

Previously Announced Upcoming Releases

Derek Fawcett Feel Better (October 7) www.derekfawcett.com
Scott Ainslie The Last Shot Got Him (October 28) www.scottainslie.com

Recent Releases

Ben Rabb Until It's Gone www.benrabb.com
Flow Tribe Alligator White www.flowtribe.com
David Mayfield Strangers www.davidmayfieldparade.net
The Villains A Little Something For The Pain www.thevillainsband.com
Heather Kropf Chrysalis www.heatherkropf.com
Jeff Ellis Learning How To Live www.jeffellismusic.com
Brigitte DeMeyer Savannah Road www.brigittedemeyer.com
The Carmonas self-titled www.thecarmonasmusic.com
Red Wanting Blue Little America www.redwantingblue.com
Cowboy Mouth Go! www.cowboymouth.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group  We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Arturo Sandoval, Boney James, BWB, Chick Corea, Curtis Stigers, Dianne Reeves, Earl Klugh, Eliane Elias, Emily Bear, George Benson, Harvey Mason, Helen Sung, Hiromi, Jeff Lorber, Kneebody, Kris Bowers, Melissa Aldana, Mindi Abair, Molly Ringwald, Moreland & Arbuckle, Otis Taylor, Patricia Barber, Richard Elliot and Trampled Under Foot. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at Concord Music’s website. www.concordmusicgroup.com

Compass Records — We are proud to be handling tour press for some of iconic Nashville independent label Compass Records’ amazing roster. Current tours we are working (in addition to long-time MJM client David Mayfield whom they recently signed) include Justin Currie (of Del Amitri) and A.J. Croce. www.compassrecords.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Horseshoes & Hand Grenades www.hhgmusic.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Melanie www.melaniesafka.com
Rusty Young www.poconut.org
Radar vs. Wolf www.radarvswolf.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
Choo Choo Bob www.choochoobobs.com
John McEuen www.johnmceuen.com
Kerri Powers www.kerripowers.com
Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com
Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Rosco Bandana www.roscobandana.com
Charlie Parr www.charlieparr.com
Nicholas David www.thefeelin.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Desert Rose Band www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
The Americans www.theamericansmusic.com
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com
Strung Like a Horse www.strunglikeahorse.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com