December 2014 Newsletter

Posted on 04 Dec 2014 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

We’ve officially reached the holiday season, and I wanted to take this opportunity to say thanks from all of us at Michael J. Media for your support in 2014 and we look forward to bringing you more great music and tours in 2015. Oh, and if you need a break from the bombardment of “Cyber Monday” e-mails you are no doubt receiving, please have a look and listen to what we have going on in December. Happy holidays!

New Clients and New Releases

Nicholas David During his 2012 appearance on NBC’s hit talent show “The Voice,” season finalist Nicholas David wowed the crowd with his vocal flexibility—taking on covers of everything from Jimi Hendrix to Corrine Bailey Rae for an ultimate 3rd-place finish. However, what resonated most with the audience was his undeniable old-school and old-fashioned soul, which has been a common thread throughout his career and showcased to perfection on his latest EP, Make Hope. This project, which marks the Minnesotan singer-songwriter’s seventh overall, is a smooth and deep study of emotion backed by David’s confident command of soul, R&B, and rock ‘n’ roll. www.thefeelin.com

Jacob Blazer Catchy rhythms, smooth lyrics and a bad boy dynamic melt together perfectly to create a velvety mixture of hip-hop and electronica on Jacob & the Good People’s newest EP, Rotten, released on November 12. The disc has a faux urban/electronic vice that his previous EP didn’t have, and Blazer came to realize that his adopted city of Atlanta had changed him and consequently, his music as well. The genuine love of hip-hop that Jacob & the Good People possess was a huge influence for Rotten. www.jacobandthegoodpeople.com

Other News

Red Wanting Blue Cathedral Concerts, a new concert series exclusive to Cleveland, will launch from Trinity Cathedral on Friday, December 5 with nationally acclaimed touring act Red Wanting Blue - the first contemporary rock concert ever staged at Trinity Cathedral. The Cathedral Concerts series is being designed as a hip, unique and intimate music experience, and events will be staged at Trinity Cathedral throughout 2015. RWB is also playing a special New Year’s Eve fan appreciation show at B&O Station in Youngstown. www.redwantingblue.com

Firefall and Poco are among those bands being inducted into the Colorado Music Hall of Fame. There will be a ceremony and performances by original members at the Paramount in Denver on January 9. More information will follow soon.

www.facebook.com/FIREFALLofficial

www.poconut.org

Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime played its first show almost fourteen years ago. Since then, Badfish has not only become a fixture on the national touring circuit, but the band has consistently sold out venues along the way. From January 15 through February 17, Badfish will be performing Sublime’s 1992 debut, 40 oz. to Freedom in its entirety. In addition, special guests on the tour include Phil and the Blanx (featuring Bud Gaugh of Sublime), and Shrub. www.badfish.com

Recent Releases

Sarah Lou Richards The Woman Behind the Curtain www.sarahlourichards.com
The Jack Kerowax Kerowax www.stcaitrecords.com/artists/kerowax
Tim Mahoney Peace of Winter: Live at MacPhail www.timmahoney.com
Farmer Jason Christmas on the Farm With Farmer Jason www.farmerjason.com
Derek Fawcett Feel Better www.derekfawcett.com
Scott Ainslie The Last Shot Got Him www.scottainslie.com
Flow Tribe Alligator White www.flowtribe.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group— We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Boney James, Danielle Nicole Band, Dianne Reeves, Emily Bear, George Benson, Gerald Albright, , Hiromi, Kris Bowers, Melissa Aldana, Mike Stern/Eric Johnson, Mindi Abair, Molly Ringwald, Otis Taylor, Peter White, Richard Elliot, and Steve Tyrell. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Compass Records — We are proud to be handling tour press for some of iconic Nashville independent label Compass Records’ amazing roster. Check out more of what the label has happening at www.compassrecords.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Kerri Powers www.kerripowers.com
Melanie www.melaniesafka.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
David Mayfield www.davidmayfieldparade.net
Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com
Horseshoes & Hand Grenades www.hhgmusic.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Charlie Parr www.charlieparr.com
Brigitte DeMeyer www.brigittedemeyer.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Rosco Bandana www.roscobandana.com
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com