August 2015 Newsletter

Posted on 04 Aug 2015 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Ryan Luecke
ryan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

I realized something last week while on the golf course with a buddy who is a physical therapist. The other two guys we played with I hadn’t met before, and as the inevitable “What do you do?” came up, and I said that I have my own business doing publicity for musicians and bands, the reaction was the same as it almost always is. “Wow, what a cool job! How did you get into that?’

Well yeah, I thought, it IS pretty freaking cool. It’s not nearly as important as the gig of someone who saves and protects lives, and honestly I find something interesting about anyone’s occupation. But is what I do unique and cool? Absolutely.

I got into this because I was a musician, band member and songwriter for many years (still am), and had always been fascinated by the music industry. I worked hard to break into the business end of things, and while I still put in about 50 hours per week, it doesn’t feel like work. I feel lucky every day to be able to share the music of my clients with as much of the world as possible.

So, with that………..

New Clients and New Releases

Elaine St. George“Don’t You Know Me?” A Steve Goodman Songbook. The chorus of Steve Goodman’s best known song asks, “Don't you know me?” And while millions know “City of New Orleans,” few know the name of the guy who wrote it. Elaine St. George fell in love with Steve’s music when she was about 15 years old. Some decades later, she and her jazz band are keeping it alive, offering a new twist on Goodman’s songs, and hoping those who are hearing it for the first time are moved the same way as she was. www.elainestgeorge.com

Stephen Young & the UnionEagle Fort Rumble. Formed in Dublin, Ireland in 2009, Stephen Young & the Union are influenced by Tom Petty, Bob Dylan, Ryan Adams and Wilco while embracing their Irish heritage. They are delivering their second album, Eagle Fort Rumble on Ragged Music Recordings November 27. Hailed by Irish radio station Radio Nova as "the best Americana band on this side of the Atlantic," a claim that was quickly backed up by the Irish national press with the Daily Star adding, "There are few better in the genre than Young & the Union." The band will be introduced to the US market with this release and a late fall tour. www.facebook.com/StephenYoungAndTheUnion

Returning clients

The Jack Kerowax — The late 2014 release of Kerowax by Dallas based band, The Jack Kerowax, drew critical indie acclaim as an Americana band with a fresh sound. Now, The Jack Kerowax hits the road in late August for a three-week tour in support of the album’s vinyl release. www.stcaitrecords.com/artists/kerowax/

Recent Releases

Jon Pousette-Dart Talk  www.pousette-dart.com
Dan Rodriguez Come On Home www.danrodriguezmusic.com
Brian Lisik Curtisinterruptedus www.brianlisik.com
Hobo Nephews of Uncle Frank American Shuffle (Chaperone Records) hobonephews.com
Rob Nance Signal Fires www.robnance.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Al Jarreau, Ben Williams, Chick Corea, Danielle Nicole Band, David Benoit, Dianne Reeves, Dr. John, Eliane Elias, Fourplay, Gerald Albright, Hiromi, Jamison Ross, John Pizzarelli, Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band, Kris Bowers, Kristin Chenoweth, Lee Ritenour, Lizz Wright, Melissa Aldana, Mike Stern, Mindi Abair, Molly Ringwald, Peter White, and Richard Elliot. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Roger Hoover www.rogerhoover.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
Chris Hillman & Herb Pedersen www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Jim Lauderdale www.jimlauderdale.com
Nicholas David www.thefeelin.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Kerri Powers www.kerripowers.com
Bluegrass Gospel Project www.bluegrassgospelproject.com
Brigitte DeMeyer www.brigittedemeyer.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com