September 2014 Newsletter

Posted on 05 Sept 2014 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

Seasons change and we’re in the midst of another one of those changes now. School is starting. Football is starting. Summer is ending (seriously, already?). I love this time of year, as it’s an exciting time of new beginnings. That, and I happen to be a huge NFL football fan. But this year it’s bittersweet, as I lost my dad two Fridays ago to a short but courageous battle with cancer. My dad was a savvy businessman (he owned a successful car dealership in NY for 30-plus years), an optimist with a great sense of humor, good family values, and an undying love for the New York Giants—things he passed along to me. He always encouraged me to pursue my dreams and to always believe that they can be achieved. Today I make a living doing what I love, thanks in large part to my dad’s influence. I’m forever grateful for that, and I know he’ll be watching the Giants with me on Monday night and all season.

And now that I’m back to work, let’s talk about the great batch of new releases and artists on tour we have this fall….…..

New Clients and New Releases

Scott Ainslie Blues musician (and historian) Scott Ainslie recently came into possession of a unique 1934 Gibson archtop, which inspired him to put together a set celebrating songs that may likely have come out of the guitar during its youth and heyday. The album is called The Last Shot Got Him, an album named for a tune by Mississippi John Hurt and featuring blues, songs, and standards popular when the guitar was young. With the help of the Gibson, Ainslie lovingly translates work from such greats as Hurt, Robert Johnson, Irving Berlin, and others. www.scottainslie.com

Ben Rabb Ben Rabb is a modern folksinger steeped in the fingerpicked sounds of the greats — James Taylor, Eric Andersen, Joni Mitchell — but more closely aligned with modern, indie-minded songwriters like David Gray. There's a gentle lilt to his voice and a swoon to his guitar work. Boosted by lightly layered arrangements courtesy of producer Mike Davidson, Rabb’s new album Until It's Gone sounds like the sort of easy-going album you'd play while drinking your coffee on Sunday morning. Just don't be surprised if you find yourself playing these six songs throughout the rest of the week, too. www.benrabb.com

Flow Tribe "Back cracking music." That's how the New Orleans natives in Flow Tribe describe their sound. It's a groove-based gumbo, a mixture of classic Louisiana traditions (funk, jazz, electric blues) and modern-day influences (rock, hip-hop). Flow Tribe's latest release, Alligator White, is an EP that bounces between funk, rock and Latin music. There's no better representation of Flow Tribe's wide-ranging capabilities… apart from the band's live show, of course. Alligator White is set for release September 9. www.flowtribe.com

Horseshoes & Hand Grenades Wisconsin band Horseshoes & Hand Grenades was born from a love of hanging out with friends, playing music, and drinking good ale—so it stands to reason that the quintet has a well-deserved reputation for a rollicking, foot-stomping, swing-your-partner live show. Horseshoes & Hand Grenades is well-prepped to party with a variety of music-loving audiences on their fall tour, having recently played the prestigious DelFest over Memorial Day weekend ’14. www.hhgmusic.com

James Montgomery Band When blues legend James Montgomery plays the harmonica, he "brings it on home". Whether it's recording with Kid Rock, sitting in with Gregg Allman, or fronting his hot band of thirty years, Montgomery plays with authority. While growing up in Detroit he learned first-hand from the masters - James Cotton, John Lee Hooker, and Jr. Wells - at the legendary "Chessmate." Over the years, Montgomery has carried on in the tradition and continues to be a vital presence in Blues as one of the most dynamic performers on the scene. www.jamesmontgomery.com

Previously Announced Upcoming Releases

David Mayfield Strangers (September 9) www.davidmayfieldparade.net
Derek Fawcett Feel Better (October 7) www.derekfawcett.com

Recent Releases

The Villains A Little Something For The Pain www.thevillainsband.com
Heather Kropf Chrysalis www.heatherkropf.com
Jeff Ellis Learning How To Live www.jeffellismusic.com
Brigitte DeMeyer Savannah Road www.brigittedemeyer.com
The Carmonas self-titled www.thecarmonasmusic.com
Red Wanting Blue Little America www.redwantingblue.com
Cowboy Mouth Go! www.cowboymouth.com
Will Kimbrough Sideshow Love www.willkimbrough.com
Shaman Juan Soothsayer www.shamanjuan.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group - We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Arturo Sandoval, Boney James, BWB, Chick Corea, Curtis Stigers, Dianne Reeves, Earl Klugh, Eliane Elias, Emily Bear, George Benson, Harvey Mason, Helen Sung, Hiromi, Jeff Lorber, Kneebody, Kris Bowers, Melissa Aldana, Mindi Abair, Molly Ringwald, Moreland & Arbuckle, Otis Taylor, Patricia Barber, Richard Elliot and Trampled Under Foot. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at Concord Music’s website. www.concordmusicgroup.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Melanie www.melaniesafka.com
Choo Choo Bob www.choochoobobs.com
John McEuen www.johnmceuen.com
Kerri Powers www.kerripowers.com
Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com
Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Rosco Bandana www.roscobandana.com
Jesse Terry www.jesseterrymusic.com
Charlie Parr www.charlieparr.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Desert Rose Band www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
The Americans www.theamericansmusic.com
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
Strung Like a Horse www.strunglikeahorse.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com