August 2017 Newsletter

Posted on 06 Aug 2017 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Ryan Luecke
ryan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

It’s August 1, and do you know where your New Year’s resolutions are? This year, my wife and I (and our 9-year old son to some degree) are now checking ours monthly now in order to gauge progress. Naturally, this kicks us in the ass to at least try to keep some of those promises to ourselves and to each other. Because otherwise, we lose focus about ten days in to the new year--which happened to me as I think I may have kept, at most, one of those resolutions so far.

It’s easy to sit back and do nothing, to be passive while the world around us is rapidly changing. This is something that can apply to us in everyday life or in more specific things like understanding technology, staying educated, or becoming politically active. It’s just human nature for a lot of us, and it’s something that those who choose to forge past will get the most accomplished—for better or for worse. Checking off a resolution or resolutions in order to better yourself can be enriching to the soul, but it also puts us on a path to making things happen in our own worlds, or in the world we all live in together.

This month, I am feeling inspired; I don’t know what that will amount to. I just know that I’m going to put some extra effort into making some things happen, and then see where that leads to. How about you?

Have a great month everyone! —Mike

New clients/new releases

Bob Bradshaw American Echoes (October 20) This album from Boston based singer/songwriter Bob Bradshaw is a title 25 years in the making. It marks Bradshaw’s seventh studio recording, and is a tribute to the time this Irish-born singer/songwriter has spent absorbing the music of his adopted home of the US. Drawing from classic American genres ranging from country and folk to bluegrass and the blues, the twelve original compositions on American Echoes spin tales of the dreamers and pickers; the losers, poets, and sinners Bradshaw has encountered on his journeys across the nation’s landscape. www.bobbradshaw.net

The Freeway Revival Revolution Road This Asheville based band’s music was born from the energy and the spirit that comes from a life spent on the road, and the packed tour schedule they have maintained since their inception has strengthened their sound- a healthy mix of guitar driven soul and rock n roll with a flare of psychedelic, complemented by four part vocal harmonies. After releasing an introductory self-titled EP in 2016, logging numerous tour dates including appearances at the Warren Haynes Christmas Jam By Day and the Mountain Sports Festival, The Freeway Revival is set to release their first full length album titled Revolution Road. www.freewayrevival.com

Sarah Lou Richards Someone Who Gets Me (mid September) Mixing the bright melodies of pop music with the texture, twang, and storytelling narratives of Americana, Sarah Lou Richards expands her sound with Someone Who Gets Me. Shaped by the highway miles, personal experiences and life changes that have unfolded since her previous release — 2014's The Woman Behind the Curtain, whose track list featured the production talents and vocal harmonies of Gary Nichols, the front man of Grammy award winning bluegrass act The SteelDrivers—Someone Who Knows Me finds Richards making the biggest, boldest music of her career. www.sarahlourichards.com

Previously announced upcoming releases

Brian Lisik and the Unfortunates We’re Sorry…(September 15) www.brianlisik.com
Stew Cutler Every Sunday Night (September 15) www.stewcutler.com
Emily Mure Worth (September 22) www.emilymure.com
Bill Toms and Hard Rain Good For My Soul (October 27) www.billtoms.com

Recent releases

Ben Rabb Feel Me Fall www.benrabb.com
Cameron Mitchell Maspeth www.cameronmitchell.net
Darcy Malone & the Tangle Make Me Over darcymaloneandthetangle.com
The Gage Brothers self-titled (May 5) www.thegagebrothers.com
Todd Adelman & The Country Mile Time Will Tell (May 12) www.toddadelman.com
The Two Tracks Postcard Town (May 19) www.thetwotracks.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella for tour press: Curtis Stigers, Dianne Reeves, Doyle Bramhall II, Eliane Elias, Esperanza Spalding, Hiromi, Jamison Ross, Javier Colon, Jazzmeia Horn, John Pizzarelli, Jonny Lang, Kristin Chenoweth, Lee Ritenour, Lizz Wright, Marquis Hill, Melissa Etheridge, Mike Stern, Peter White, Peter Wolf, Postmodern Jukebox, Richard Elliot, Southern Avenue, and The Record Company. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com. And if you would like a media kit for any of these artists, please let us know.

Other Artists Currently on Tour

Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoneysings.com
Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com
Firefall www.firefallofficial.com
Michael McDermott www.michael-mcdermott.com
John McEuen www.johnmceuen.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Poco www.poconut.org

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com