April 2015 Newsletter

Posted on 01 Apr 2015 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

So my son follows every holiday on the calendar. When Valentine’s Day is over, like the next day, he will say “Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Daddy!” And on March 18th, he said “Happy April Fool’s Day, Daddy!” Nothing was as funny as what he called Chinese New Year. He wished “Happy Cheesy New Year” to my wife and me, and once we realized what he meant, we laughed to the point of crying. But hey, we live in Wisconsin, so celebrating cheese is not exactly much of a stretch.

So Happy Cheesy New Year, Happy April Fool’s Day, Happy Easter, Happy Passover, Happy Spring, Happy Opening Day. It’s not what you celebrate or when, it’s just that you celebrate (or not) in a way that means something to you. And hey, everything tends to be better with music. So with that……..

New Clients and New Releases

Jon Pousette-Dart Talk (July 28) The Pousette-Dart Band, led by Jon Pousette-Dart carved a place in the landscape of American music in the 70’s & 80’s becoming one of the busiest touring groups in the US, working with The Byrds, Bonnie Raitt, The Eagles, James Taylor, Journey, Billy Joel, and more. Talk, Pousette-Dart’s tenth album, featuring songs written with Darrell Scott, John Oates, Gary Nicholson, Fred Knobloch, Angela Kaset Kostas and Sally Barris. It was produced and recorded in Nashville by Bil VornDick. www.pousette-dart.com

John Milstead (May TBA) Nashville by way of Tupelo soulful country singer/songwriter John Milstead released his first project, Sides of the Soul in 2009. He toured with Sister Hazel, opened for BB King and sang on NBC's Today Show. Out of 12,000 entries, John's songs placed in the top 10 of the NSAI songwriting contest three straight years. After moving to Nashville, John signed his first publishing deal as a staff writer with Reba Mcentire's company Starstruck in October 2013. His new album is tentatively scheduled for release in late May. www.johnmilstead.com

Rob Nance Signal Fires (April 21) Rob Nance’s second album finds him broadening the sound he introduced with his first effort, 2013’s Lost Souls & Locked Doors. Incorporating a wide range of musical styles and instruments- everything from pedal steel guitars to retro Casio synthesizers, Rob made a conscious effort to push Signal Fires into places he had not ventured on his first record. www.robnance.com

Cameron Mitchell Chelsea No Evil (April ) Last fall, NYC based singer/songwriter Cameron Mitchell (no, not the dude from Glee) wanted to find out who produced Rodney Crowell’s most recent album, Tarpaper Sky. Turns out, it was Dan Knobler (Rodney Crowell, Rosanne Cash, Chris Thile), who lived a couple of miles away. There, Chelsea No Evil came to life. The EP is a time capsule of emotions --some heartbreak, some love, some dark, some light. www.cameronmitchell.net

Returning Clients

Jesse Terry/Rebecca Loebe New England’s Jesse Terry is an internationally touring, award-winning singer-songwriter whose intimacy with audiences, sincerity, and approachability has solidified him as a favorite at festivals and live venues nationwide. Rebecca Loebe is an Austin-based young singer-songwriter known for her distinct voice, well-crafted songs and ability to bring an audience to her journeys, introducing them to the characters she meets and observations she makes as she travels. Together they make for an extremely compelling live show, one you can catch at various venues in May.
www.jesseterrymusic.com
www.rebeccaloebe.com

Previously announced upcoming releases

Brian Lisik Curtisinterruptedus (April 28) www.brianlisik.com
Charlie Parr Stumpjumper (April 28/Red House Records) www.charlieparr.com
Hobo Nephews of Uncle Frank American Shuffle (May 2015/Chaperone Records) www.facebook.com/hobonephews

Recent Releases

Nicholas David Make Hope www.thefeelin.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group— We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Al Jarreau, Ben Williams, Danielle Nicole Band, Dianne Reeves, Dr. John, Eliane Elias, Emily Bear, George Benson, Gerald Albright, Hiromi, Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band, Kris Bowers, Melissa Aldana, Mindi Abair, Molly Ringwald, Peter White, Richard Elliot, and Steve Tyrell. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Jim Lauderdale www.jimlauderdale.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
John McEuen www.johnmceuen.com
Buffalo Stack www.buffalostack.com
Desert Rose Band www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Ben Rabb www.benrabb.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Kerri Powers www.kerripowers.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Poco www.poconut.org
Radar vs. Wolf www.radarvswolf.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com